Назад
Making lunar cement with mixing urine
22.05.2020

A group of scientists from universities in Norway, the Netherlands, Spain and Italy made this assumption after they managed to manufacture cement using urea and imitation of lunar soil.

The use of regolith to produce cement and concrete directly on the Moon had been suggested for a long time, but there is very little water available on the satellite. On Earth, plasticizers are used to reduce the amount of water required, but most of them are organic and are difficult to produce on the Moon. In contrast, urine is always abundant where there are people, and the two main components of urine — water and urea — can be used effectively in cement manufacture.

Using artificial material similar to the lunar soil in composition and properties, scientists have prepared four cylinders-samples: three with the use of plasticizers (urea, polycarboxylate, naphthalene) and one without additives. The sample with urea showed high usability and viscosity as well as high mechanical strength even after eight freeze-thaw cycles.

It is still too early to talk about wide application of this technology — the samples have not been tested in conditions of vacuum or cosmic cold, and it is not so easy to separate urea from urine, especially on the Moon. But the authors of the study are determined and conduct subsequent tests to confirm the practicality of the use of an unusual plasticizer.

The source: https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0959652619340478?via%3Dihub

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Продолжение читайте в журнале

Для этого вам нужно оформить один из вариантов подписки и можете читать все статьи без ограничений и в любом удобном для вас формате.

Оформить подписку

Назад
Моча для затворения лунного цемента
22.05.2020

Группа ученых из университетов Норвегии, Нидерландов, Испании и Италии выдвинула такое предположение, после того как им удалось изготовить цемент с использованием мочевины и имитации лунного грунта.

Использовать реголит для получения цемента и бетона непосредственно на Луне предлагали давно, тем не менее на спутнике крайне мало воды для затворения смеси. На Земле для снижения необходимого объема воды используются добавки-пластификаторы, но большинство из них органические и с ними на Луне тоже сложности. В отличие от них, моча всегда есть в достатке там, где есть люди, а два основных компонента мочи — вода и мочевина — могут эффективно использоваться при изготовлении цемента.

Используя искусственный материал, по составу и свойствам схожий с лунным грунтом, ученые подготовили четыре цилиндра-образца: три с использованием пластификаторов (мочевина, поликарбоксилатный, нафталиновый) и один бездобавочный. Образец с мочевиной показал высокую удобоукладываемость и вязкость, а также высокую механическую прочность даже после восьми циклов замораживания-оттаивания.

Пока еще рано говорить о широком применении данной технологии — образцы не были испытаны в условиях вакуума и космического холода, да и выделить мочевину из мочи не так уж и просто, тем более на Луне. Но авторы исследования настроены решительно и проводят последующие испытания, чтобы подтвердить практичность использования необычного пластификатора.

Источник: https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0959652619340478?via%3Dihub

Продолжение читайте в журнале

Для этого вам нужно оформить один из вариантов подписки и можете читать все статьи без ограничений и в любом удобном для вас формате.

Оформить подписку